Do you know how many Jesuit Missions are in BCS and why they settled on these lands?
Well, as is well known, Mexico has an exquisitely rich history. Part of it is carried out by the missionaries who came to these lands wanting to evangelize and give its inhabitants a dignified "progress."
Of course, this is very controversial since the native inhabitants of these lands already had their laws, customs, and beliefs; that is, they already had a formed society where they lived without outside interventions.

mission de san javier

When the colonizers arrived, they began to gain ground in all areas; this brought a lot of suffering on the part of the natives since they lived through years of slavery and subjugation.
There were several failed colonization attempts in the BCS Peninsula until finally, in 1986, a group of Europeans and people from New Spain set foot on these lands to found missions among the Pericúes, Guaycuras, and Cochimíes Indians.
It took many years for the colonizers to reach evangelization as planned due to the enormous resistance put up by the native men.

mision santa rosa

Today, we can visit the missions built in different BCS locations. They are the sample of this part of history, sad for many and necessary for others.

mision nuestra senora del pilar

There are 17 Missions that we can see in BCS, and each one of them shows the relics of those years, where the advances in evangelization left not only buildings that endured many human and climatic struggles but also represent part of the idiosyncrasy that today is the society of South California.

mision san jose del cabo

  • Nuestra Señora de Loreto Concho 1697-1829.
  • San Francisco Javier de Biaundo 1699-1817 (5 millas al sur se trasladó en 1710).
  • San Juan Bautista de Ligüí / Malibat 1705-1721.Santa Rosalía de Mulegé 1705-1828.
  • San José de Comondú 1708-1827 (se trasladó 22 kilómetros al sur en 1736).
  • La Purísima Concepción de Cadegomo 1720-1822 (se trasladó 10 kilómetros al sur en 1735).
  • Nuestra Señora del Pilar de la Paz Airapi 1720-1748 (se trasladó a Todos Santos en 1748).
  • Nuestra Señora del Pilar de la Paz (Todos Santos) 1748-1840.
  • Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe de Huasinapi 1720-1795.
  • Nuestra Señora de los Dolores Apate 1721-1741 (se trasladó a La Pasión en 1741).
  • Nuestra Señora de los Dolores Chilla (La Pasión) 1741-1768.
  • Santiago el Apostal Aiñini 1724-1795 (2 millas al sur se trasladó en 1734).
  • Nuestro Señor San Ignacio Kadakaaman 1728-1840.
  • San José del Cabo Añuiti 1730-1840.
  • Santa Rosa de Las Palmas (Todos Santos) 1733-1748 San Luis Gonzaga Chiriyaqui 1737-1768.
  • Santa Gertrudis de Cadacaman 1751-1822.
  • San Francisco de Borja Adac 1762-1818.
  • Calamajué 1766-1767 (se trasladó 30 kilómetros al norte en 1767).
  • Santa María de los Ángeles 1767-1769.